General Adult

The Shop of Shades and Secrets

In the tradition of Barbara Michaels and Mary Stewart comes a new take on a modern gothic.

When Fiona Murphy inherits a small antiques shop from an old man she met only once, she’s filled with surprise, confusion and delight—and a little bit of terror at having a new responsibility in a life she prefers to be free and easy.

As she takes over ownership of the quaint shop, odd things begin to happen. Lights come on and off by themselves, even when they are unplugged…and there is a chilly breeze accompanied by the scent of roses even when the windows are closed.

H. Gideon Nath, III, is the stiff and oh-so-proper attorney who helps settle Fiona’s inheritance, and despite her flightiness and fascination with all things New Age, he finds himself attracted to her against his better judgment.

After she finds an unpleasant surprise in one of the shop’s closets, scares off an intruder in the store, and uses her skill at palmistry to read Gideon’s future--of which she seems to be a part--Fiona begins to realize that her free and easy life is about to change…whether she wants it to or not.

eISBN: 
9781931419086

The Cards of Life and Death

A small-town summer romance spiced up with moonlit boat rides, handsome neighbors, and a haunted deck of Tarot cards....

Diana Iverson is a sharp, up and coming malpractice attorney with a logical, scientific mind and a handsome fiancé—until the rug is pulled out from under her feet and her life is upended.

When her crazy Aunt Belinda dies, leaving her a big old house in Maine along with a box of Tarot cards, Diana takes the opportunity for a summer get-away away from the rat-race of Boston and the painful memories there.

She doesn’t expect to meet up with Ethan Tannock, the handsome neighbor next door who seems to be some sort of eccentric ghost-buster—along with his big, black Labrador Retriever.

But when the old house becomes the scene of vandalism and a number of break-ins, and it begins to appear as if Aunt Belinda’s death was not as it seemed, Diana finds that life isn’t always black and white and filled with logic.

And then there are Aunt Belinda’s Tarot cards...which seem to be trying to tell her something from beyond the grave.

In the tradition of Barbara Michaels and Mary Stewart comes a new take on a modern gothic by bestselling author Colleen Gleason.

eISBN: 
9781931419116

Siberian Treasure

In the tradition of Clive Cussler comes the first novel in an exciting new series of thrilling adventure, high-stakes international threats, and lost treasures....

Moscow, 1560: A lost Byzantine library...last seen in the possession of Russia's Ivan the Terrible...

Siberia, 1942: A World War II female fighter pilot crashes in the mountains of Siberia and is taken away by a small, mysterious tribe...

United States, 2007: Four simultaneous earthquakes erupt across the United States in areas without fault lines....

Marina Alexander lives for adventure. She pilots small planes in order to participate in search and rescue missions with her dog, deep in the most dangerous caves on earth.

She also studies antiquities at the University of Michigan, and is just about to depart on the most important trip of her career when she is swept into an adventure of high-stakes, international intrigue.

Little does she know, she has a connection to a dangerous group of eco-terrorists that will bring her face to face with them--and leave her with a terrible choice.

From the deep, dangerous caves of mid-Pennsylvania to the southern shore of Lake Superior, to the desolate mountains of Siberia and the slick urban oil center of Riyadh, Siberian Treasure will take readers on a fast-paced, thrilling ride.

eISBN: 
9781931419017

Little Miss Straight Lace

*** A 2010 Readers Favorite Gold Medal Award Winner *** When a dedicated researcher learns a bit too much about her client's new drug, the horrors from her past seem destined to return. Just as her life begins to spin out of control, a dashing computer security expert arrives from South America and seems the perfect antidote. But is his sudden arrival just the happy coincidence it seems? Find out in this complex novel of romance and suspense that takes the reader on a roller coaster ride of murder, mayhem, sex, and drugs—of the pharmaceutical variety, of course—until the very last page.

Praise for Little Miss Straight Lace:
"Romana's characters are portrayed with skill, each is a credible person filled with foibles, warts and gaffes...the various twists and turns are handled with skill, are easily followed, and add depth and dimension often lacking in works provided by newer writers...Maria Romana's 'Little Miss Straight Lace' is a fast paced, keep 'em guessing and turning the page type read sure to intrigue readers who enjoy good writing, a bit of romance, a lot of action, and a downright good read..."
—Molly Martin, Midwest Book Review

"There is one thing for sure, the reader is in for a rollicking ride. It is full of suspense and mystery along with romance and humor. A very enjoyable read."
—Readers Favorite, an Amazon Vine(tm) Voice reviewer

"...a great beach read...all the ingredients for a story that's hard to put down..."
—Author A.J. Braithwaite, from Inside Hawley Lodge

Read an excerpt:
    "Jos, wait! There is more. I have to tell you—"
     No! No, no, NO! Absolutely not. Josie slammed her hands over her ears as she ran up the steps into the bedroom. She knew he would follow, so she dove into the bathroom and locked the door behind her.
    Nic knocked gently on the door. "Josie, honey, come on out. Let's talk about it, sweetheart. He is dead. He cannot hurt us anymore."
    She shrieked at him through the door, "That's not true, and you know it! Go away!" How could he be so reasonable, so understanding at a time like this? Where was that hot-tempered, red-faced Latino who blew up at her six months before? Why wasn't he just burning, flaming, incinerating from the inside out, like she was?
    She looked at her over-sized shower with its marvelous, thick glass-block walls, specially-made for her. She'd selected this condo before the building was even finished, and talked the contractor into making it to her specifications with her wit, charm, and a lot of extra dough. The three imported shower heads, each spraying from a different wall, with a combined fifteen gallons per minute of water—would it be enough? She started peeling off her clothes and dumped them in a pile.
    "Josie! Come on. Please. You cannot make this go away. We will figure it out together."
     She stepped between the glass blocks. First spigot—all hot water. Second—same thing. Then the third. Blisteringly hot. And loud. Loud enough to drown out Nic's voice. She stood in the center of the three searing jets and closed her eyes. She was fifteen years old again. In another blisteringly hot shower, where she had scrubbed and scrubbed and scrubbed, and it was never enough to get his eyes and his hands and his smell off her body.
    She opened her eyes, ignoring the hot tears that blended so easily into the shower water. She grabbed the oatmeal soap and her scratchy little sea sponge and started working. Scrubbing, scraping, up and down. Until the skin was raw. How long would it take to cleanse herself now? Dead or not, would she ever get that lying, using, filthy little pig off of her, out of her, away from her, once and for all?

eISBN: 
9781452385259
Syndicate content